Kids had their school’s sports day at Yishun Stadium. I didn’t think it would be much fun staying. So I lugged along the big camera and went for a 4-hour birding trip at the nearby Lower Seletar Reservoir. Actually, I walked all the way to OCC (Orchid Country Club) and back. Hehe. Caught a few birds that I’d never photographed before. Very satisfied. 🙂

Olive-backed Sunbird, male
DSC00038_filtered

DSC00056

Pied Fantail (OCC)

DSC00082_filtered

DSC00096_filtered

Common Flameback, female (OCC)

DSC00103_filtered

DSC00104_filtered

Tiger Shrike (back to the reservoir)

DSC00128_filtered

This shrike was so adorable, looking around with its big round eyes.

Scaly Breasted Munia

DSC00181_filtered

DSC00182_filtered

Doesn’t it look comical?

White Throated Kingfisher

DSC00184_filtered

DSC00190_filtered

I chased this kingfisher for quite a distance but it kept flying away from me.

Love these…

DSC00202_filtered

DSC00207_filtered

Brahminy Kite

DSC00210_filtered

These birds aren’t exactly uncommon but I was already very thrilled to photograph them. I am an amateur birder afterall. Haha. Actually, there were 2 more birds which were caught on camera: Common Kingfisher and Blue Tailed Bee-eater. Sadly, they were both too far away. I would be STOKED to capture these 2 birds! Never mind, next time!

 

