otah6

Jio-ed my mum for an otah making session. Why otah? Because towards the end of the school holidays last December, my kids developed a taste for spicy food. They devoured chilli crab, satay with peanut sauce, otah, prata with curry and even tried nasi lemak sambal! I remembered my mum made otah before, so asked her to teach me. Alas, she’s forgotten the recipe. Haha. Never mind, Meatmen to the rescue. Yep, we based our recipe around this. I say based, because my mother never follows recipes to a T, always agar agar.

We started off nice and early at the wet market. It’s a joy shopping at the market with her. She knows so much about raw ingredients. And of course, she knew the common names of the various seafood, spices and vegetables. I don’t think I would make much progress asking around for kaffir lime leaves or candlenuts. And the fishes, oh man. I thought all mackerels are simply batang. I was so wrong. :p

After lots of peeling and chopping and blending, we got this:
otah1

It smelled terrific already!

While I was slowly sampling the first piece of otah, my mum was hard at work scooping more of the paste into the banana leaves, and sighing that I don’t learn because I don’t do the work. Haha. otah5

Who says I don’t do the work? I peeled all the shallots and garlic and blended everything hor. Admittedly, she was super quick with her chopping and more chopping. And ya, I did the last few banana leaves. Not hard at all.

otah2

otah3

otah6

Oh my gawd, they looked so good!

otah4

I love the texture of the otah. Not too soft and mushy. It was firm, yet not dry. It did dry out a bit when I reheated it (the ones in the leaves) a second time at home in the pan. Steaming them was better.

We made loads! Those on the trays were my share. My mum kept hers for dinner that night. My aunties got wind of the homemade otah session and were flocking to her place that evening. Haha.

otah7

My hubby and kids gave it thumbs up! Though I was having kind of an otah overload by dinner time. Till next time. I still have 2 packs of these in my freezer. Yay!

